The Lab

As you manipulate data in your Head,
Pressing through your Heart,
It’s Communicated through your Hands
I think,
As I experience each chapter,
Line by line,
I silently thank God for each article and each book,
Prayed a quick blessing over each author,
Knowing that you read with me in mind,
Turning each page slowly,
Ready,
Highlighter in hand,
Preparing to encounter me,
I exhale,
Knowing you didn’t skim,
Or read the cliff notes,
I experience your meticulous notes,
Each mastered the flash cards,
The aced sample pop quiz,
All in preparation for the final exam,
But this is no essay,
heartIt’s is a lab,
Where you will test your hypothesis,
Utilizing all collected data,
There will be no multiple choice,
Only a singular voices,
Made from two chords,
That have become one,
Now on one accord,
Writing a first person narrative,
You use the lab with efficiency,
Following most safety rules,
Careful to hold the magnifying glass with two hands,
One on the neck,
The other on the base,
Increasing the magnification,
Exploring the smallest intriguing details,
That create one harmony,
Yes,
You replied,
I do we responded,
Your vocal chords now,
Quietly hum like a Hammond,
With a slight tremble,
I am amazed at the data you’ve compiled,
Simple yet complete,
I am privy to your knowledge,
As your are you from my wisdom,
Your latest text book,
I am studied,
Turned like the pages,
Of an award winning novel,
My love a dissertation,
A compilation of four years of studying you,
Learning you,
Loving you,
Holding you,
Our love now a masterful manuscript,
Written from the hand of the divine,
Now transferred in the simple holding of hands,
As we walk,
Fingers locked to symbolize the oneness we have together.

Happy Valentines Day

Leave a Reply

